The Queen’s Jew

May 18, 2010 at 7:06 pm 11 comments

The Queen's Jew

The Queen’s Jew is the adequately named hand that Royal Rhino Flying is now raising into the air to wave at you inanely, hopeful of praise and good will. The contributors are a cross section of musicians that elevate contemporary music beyond the banal and the indecipherable, all of whom we are or will hopefully be collaborating with more in the future. Take The Queen’s Jew as both an introduction to a fine set of bands, and a label that – although it has nowhere near the technical ability to be a band – strives to excel in its own field. Don’t worry about the name of the compilation (google “the King’s Jew” if you want to scratch the surface and read some really fun academic literature) or of the label, and in conversation please consider dropping the “Records” bit… it serves its purpose, but the name is already hard enough to remember.

1. “Feeling Today” – Abacus
2. “Brain Cave Cable Car” – Devices Disguised
3. “You Need to Grow Up (Feat. Mad Squirrel)” – Meanest Man Contest
4. “Palms” – Visions of Trees
5. “Christmas 82″ – Jen Paul
6. “Memories Are Made of This” (The Everly Brothers Cover) – His Clancyness
7. “Jacket” – Weed Diamond
8. “Ain’t No Sunshine” (Bill Withers Cover) – Idiot Glee
9. “Julie (What’s That Spell?)” – Borrowed Beams of Light
10. “Nitzam” – Safe House
11. “Are We More Than Bones” – Cloud Nothings
12. “Predestination Paradox” – Adventure Violence
13. “In and Out of Bliss” – Boylant
14. “T. Lizzy” – Cough Cool
15. “One Day At A Time” (Marilyn Sellars Cover) – Pure Ecstasy
16. “Bury You Alive” – Panda Beach
17. “Up In That Ether” – Land of Blood and Sunshine
18. “Seizure to the Metronome” – GOBBLE GOBBLE
19. “A Million Elephants” – The Spookfish
20. “All We Are” – Wish
21. “Rainsand” – Mount McKinley
22. “Ivy King” – The New Lines
23. “Those Kids” – Tall Boys

Once again, many thanks to Liz Toler for designing The Queen’s Jew’s digital face. Though The Queen’s Jew is free to download in its entirety, we’re also preparing a limited edition CD version with packaging designed by Jheri Evans of Get Off The Coast, which can be preordered below and in our Order section.

Click here to download The Queen’s Jew

$7ppd, Domestic (US & Canada):

$9ppd, International (Rest of the World):

Tickity tonk,
Dwight P.

PS, much love.

PPS, check out Matt Duncan’s new EP on Lexington, KY’s Hop Hop Records. It kicks ass.


Entry filed under: Art, Music, Releases.

Zach Hill – “Green Bricks” Lush Cola in Fort Collins, CO

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisa  |  May 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    dang whys this $8

    • 2. royalrhinoflying  |  May 18, 2010 at 11:15 pm

      Haha, it’s free. If the physical isn’t worth $8 to you, then you’re under no obligation!

  • 3. Uli  |  May 19, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Awesome! Though I’m wondering, is the above tracklisting the correct/intended one? The Mp3s are tagged in a rather different order.

    • 4. royalrhinoflying  |  May 19, 2010 at 10:18 am

      When you’re right, you’re right. In our defense, we’ve all had head colds for days. Thanks so much for pointing out the mistake!

  • 5. So Much Silence  |  May 21, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    […] adding one to the collection thanks to a new MMC song on this free Royal Rhino Flying compilation, The Queen’s Jew. I’ll fess up and admit I’ve not heard much by any of the other groups on the 23-track […]

  • […] man contest has a song on a new compilation from royal rhino flying records. the comp is called the queen’s jew and the mmc song is called “you need to grow up.” the song is a collabo with the dude […]

  • […] new track by Meanest Man Contest and Mad Squirrel (The Acorns). From the new compilation, The Queen’s Jew, out now on Royal Rhino Flying […]

  • 8. Around The Weeb › Beat the Indie Drum  |  May 26, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    […] out this post’s batch of bitchin’ mixtapes is Royal Rhino Flying Records’ The Queens Jew compilation. You’re already familiar with the Borrowed Beams Of Light track via this past […]

  • 9. Lilia  |  August 22, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    for some reason, my computer can’t manage this file, saying

    “The file “/Users/Downloads/The+Queen’s+Jew.rar” does not appear to be compressed or encoded. It is advised that you obtain further information about the contents of this file from the sender or provider of the file.”

    I’ve been downloading from mediafire successfully all day too.

    I’d REALLY REALLY like to hear this; any other way I can get it?

    • 10. royalrhinoflying  |  August 22, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      I’m replacing the file today anyway – I’ll email you with the new link when it’s ready. If that doesn’t work, we’ll figure something out 🙂


      • 11. Lilia  |  August 22, 2010 at 9:37 pm

        Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Recent Posts

%d bloggers like this: