Evan Voytas – Astro

October 20, 2009 at 8:26 pm Leave a comment

Evan Voytas - Astro

This week LA’s Evan Voytas released a new single, “Astro,” available when you sign up to his mailing list here. For me this is incidental, as until today I’d never heard of Evan Voytas, so think of “Astro” as a clever justification I used for posting to a blog over which I have complete content control. Go figure! So, if like me you had not heard of Evan until today and are as enthused by your cursory listen to “Astro” or any of the songs on his myspace as I was, you’ll be happier about some old news. There are currently two Evan Voytas EPs downloadable from RCRDLBL; The New Dynamic Sound of Evan Voytas and I Live This Life Here For You. Although each of Voytas’ songs exhibits a differing variety of influences to one degree or another, most sample to some extent from hip-hop, funk, sunshine pop, what have you. It’s great stuff; fun beats, moody beats, funky beats, any kind of beat you care for really.

Listening to some of the songs on New Dynamic Sound this morning I had the charming realization that had I lived in the ’70s I’d have gotten along just fine with disco. I’d like to thank Evan for that realization. It was neat.

Toodly-boop,

Dwight

Entry filed under: Music.

Memories of the Future Nana Grizol – Ruth

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


